It’s a very Grand Prairie indeed

Posted: 16 July 2011 in Canada Summer, Hockey News

My great Canadian adventure started with a little missadventure when my cab driver had trouble finding the West Jet departure gate in Newark, NJ and we ended up in the economy parking lot, but after my savvy navigation I made it to my gate with plenty of time to spare before my flight to Calgary.

Check it out, West Jet decorated for my trip to Canada:

According to this map, I must have boarded the world’s largest airplane. It’s almost as long as Saskatchewan!

I arrived in Calgary in time to witness the Stampede –essentially¬† a giant festival of cowboys. This is what greeted me at the airport in Calgary:

My dear friend Shauna picked me up and put me up for the night. She also treated me to brunch at this adorable cafe. The food was AMAZING. Then it was back to the airport for two more flights.

I also visited Edmonton for the first time….. well I sat in the tarmac there for a few minutes…

Once I arrived in Grand Prairie, Heather’s mom picked me up and took me to the ice rink where I met up with the team just as they were sending all the campers home and then we played a staff scrimmage. I love playing in Canadian ice, it’s somehow better I swear. Anyway, I met up with the mother of a girl from the Calgary camp last summer, and we caught up over coffee and then I devoted the rest of the evening to posting this blog entry since the internet connection here is dreadful. It’s raining like crazy here, and tomorrow we will drive all day to Pr. George for our camp there. Check back soon for an exclusive video of the the HSOS team gone good samaritan…

Comments
  1. Pennie says:

    Totally following this blog.
    Totally praying for your trip. :)

Leave a Reply

